Sunshine Hunters
The Sunshine Hunter's Field Guide
Birds taught me how to see - a wonder fueled guide for beginning birdwatching
1
0:00
-1:30:00

Birds taught me how to see - a wonder fueled guide for beginning birdwatching

1

Today we are diving into my special interest - birds. For years now, people have been asking for advice on getting into birdwatching. I’ve hesitated to answer, simply because my own process of stumbling around slowly learning more about birds through open-ended exploration has been so gratifying and illuminating for me, and boiling that down into a checklist and a shopping list felt like taking away the magic. But today I’m taking my sweet time to share all the nuances of my birding journey, my birding philosophy, my birding gear, and answering questions from y’all on how to get started (and how to enjoy it)!

If you appreciate this episode, I’d love to invite you to become a paying subscriber of Sunshine Hunters! I love creating writing and resources to help us connect to our world and ourselves in newly tender ways and your support makes that work possible.

Timestamps:

00:00:00 Intro

00:02:45 Why I’ve historically avoided answering the question “how do I get into birding?”

00:07:27 My journey of birdwatching

00:24:56 Learning to birdwatch is essentially learning how to see.

00:35:55 Why should people care about birding?

00:49:20 Q&A starts

00:49:45 How do I get started? What gear do I need? Where do I go?

01:05:55 How do I identify birds?

01:11:27 How do I continue enjoying birding and avoid a completionist mindset? 

01:17:40 My most exciting birding experience.

01:20:55 My most unexpected birding experience. 

01:25:17 Do I have a spark bird? 

01:28:13 Do I relate birding to revolutionary thinking? 

Resources:

Audubon Binocular Guide

Merlin Bird ID

eBird

Sibley Guidebooks

What’s That Bird Facebook group

A couple other things I’ve written about birds:

Discussion about this podcast

Sunshine Hunters
The Sunshine Hunter's Field Guide
voice memos from bed, the trail, and everywhere in between.