Sunshine Hunters
The Sunshine Hunter's Field Guide
"Just Because It Feels Good Doesn't Mean It's Wrong"
Preview
0:00
-21:22

"Just Because It Feels Good Doesn't Mean It's Wrong"

This week, I have a lot of thoughts about our relationship to other’s opinions and our definition of happiness, as sparked by reading Milk Fed by Melissa Broder. How do we reclaim our sense of self and our life priorities from the all-consuming search for approval? In this episode's paid version, I talked through week four of The Artist’s Way. This included a discussion of the damage done to our creativity by saying “it’s ok”, as well as a challenge I’m issuing to myself this week!

The work I do, both here and on social media, is made possible by my paid subscribers! Every bit of support allows me to devote that much more attention to creating things that help us move through the world with more tenderness, confidence, and curiosity. If you enjoy this work and would like to see it continue, please consider becoming a paid subscriber!

(00:00:00) Intro

(00:02:33) Milk Fed by Melissa Broder

(00:06:00) Our quest for validation

(00:13:14) Redefining right and wrong

(00:17:00) Reclaiming happiness

-free version ends-


(00:19:59) - The Artist’s Way - stop saying it’s ok!

(00:25:12) No-scroll week

(00:31:33) What’s next - book club

I’ll be reading Survival Takes a Wild Imagination by Fariha Róisín in the coming weeks! If you’d like to read along with me, the sections will be as follows:

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Sunshine Hunters to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.